Reminder: FLSA Overtime Rule Effective December 1

Labor & Employment @lert

Date: October 31, 2016

The Department of Labor’s changes to overtime regulations under the Fair Labor Standards Act take effect on December 1, 2016, including the increase in minimum salary that must be paid to exempt employees to $47,476 per year, or $913 per week.

Thompson Hine recommends that employers consider making any changes necessary to comply with the amended regulations (including increased salaries) effective for the entire pay period that includes December 1, 2016. For example, if a company uses a bi-weekly pay cycle, and the pay period begins on November 21 and ends on December 4, an exempt employee’s salary should be at least $913 per week for the entire two-week period included in the pay cycle. If your company will be making changes to comply with the new regulations, Thompson Hine can provide sample employee notice templates.

FOR MORE INFORMATION

If you have questions regarding the new regulations and their impact on employees, please contact any member of Thompson Hine’s FLSA Answer Squad:

Nancy M. Barnes
216.566.5578
Nancy.Barnes@ThompsonHine.com

Eric S. Clark
513.352.6555
Eric.Clark@ThompsonHine.com

Deborah S. Brenneman
513.352.6638
Debbie.Brenneman@ThompsonHine.com

M. Scott Young
513.352.6617
Scott.Young@ThompsonHine.com

Megan S. Glowacki
513.352.6503
Megan.Glowacki@ThompsonHine.com

Stephen Richey
513.352.6768
Stephen.Richey@ThompsonHine.com

This advisory bulletin may be reproduced, in whole or in part, with the prior permission of Thompson Hine LLP and acknowledgement of its source and copyright. This publication is intended to inform clients about legal matters of current interest. It is not intended as legal advice. Readers should not act upon the information contained in it without professional counsel.

This document may be considered attorney advertising in some jurisdictions.

© 2016 THOMPSON HINE LLP. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.